Monday, May 20, 2013

Denmark pitches for seat in International Maritime Organization (IMO Council)


As part of its growth plan, Denmark officially presented the Danish candidature for the Council of the United Nations’ International Maritime Organization (the IMO Council) for the period 2014-2015 in the first week of May.

According to a Media statement released by the Danish Maritime Authority, the effort falls in line with the “Growth Plan for the Blue Denmark,” stating that Denmark will continue to be active in the international cooperation performed in the IMO.

Ms. Anne Hedensted Steffensen, the Danish Ambassador in London, officially presented the Danish candidature for the Council for the period 2014-2015.

The Danish candidature was well received by IMO Secretary General Koji Sekimizu, who expressed his recognition of the work made by Denmark in the IMO.

Mr. Sekimizu said that he look forward to having yet another contested election for the IMO Council. The experience gained in 2011 shows that the 20 seats in the group for which Denmark is standing are much sought for. The election as such will take place at the Assembly to be held in November 2013.

Since 2001, Denmark has held a seat in the IMO Council, which is the highest IMO body. The Council has 40 members, distributed on three groups, and debates maritime subjects of a strategic and political nature.

Denmark’s support for and interest in the work of the IMO is also based on the Government’s “Growth Plan for the Blue Denmark.”  Under the “Blue Denmark” plan, the Danish Government plans to work internationally for quality shipping.

IMO Council elections are held every second year. Denmark presented its candidature for the first time in 2001 and has, since then, been re-elected.

Details of current Members of IMO Council for the 2012-2013 biennium:

-  Category (a) 10 States with the largest interest in providing international shipping services: China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States.

-  Category (b) 10 States with the largest interest in international seaborne trade: Argentina, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Spain and Sweden.

-  Category (c) 20 States not elected under (a) or (b), which have special interests in maritime transport or navigation and whose election to the Council will ensure the representation of all major geographic areas of the world: Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Liberia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and Turkey.

The Council is the executive organ of IMO and is responsible, under the Assembly, for supervising the work of the Organization. Between sessions of the Assembly, the Council performs all the functions of the Assembly, except that of making recommendations to Governments on maritime safety and pollution prevention.

1 comment: